Breast Cancer Awareness: A Poem

I am very aware of breast cancer this month. 

My patient is dying of it.

My supervisor just found out she has it.

My neighbor survived it.

My mother-in-law died from it.  

Breast cancer.

When was my last mammogram?

I can not remember when.

I am a nurse who should know better.

Hear the wisdom of breast cancer sisters.

Get one now. Get one now.

And for your dying patient, comfort

For your supervisor, encourage,

For your neighbor, rejoice,

And for your mother-in-law, remember.

                                      Chris W. RN

                    

Explore posts in the same categories: health, nursing

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Breast Cancer Awareness: A Poem”

  1. Sania harris Says:

    a beautiful poem. well written. i hope, one day i will be able to help these patients.

    by hand, by soul, by mind, by words…..

  2. cwall34 Says:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about my poem. There are so many breast cancer victims and survivors around us. They are our mothers, sisters, and friends. I hope that there will be a time in your future that you get to reach out to these women. That is a great goal that we can all aspire to!
    Chris
    Nurse Talk nurse


Leave a Reply

